on all orders over $50.00

souvenir's young america - the name of the snake (12inch vinyl lp)


LABEL // smtg limited (us)
CAT // smtg12-souv


Inspired in part by Rebecca Solnit's Savage Dreams, The Name Of The Snake is a powerful four-song instrumental album about man's often tragic relationship with the past and the present. Not easily classifiable, Souvenir's Young America effortlessly surpass genre restrictions with a unique combination of heavy and ambient guitars layered with harmonica, keyboards, electronics, organs, and percussion. These tracks, their first written as a quintet, are epic, emotional narratives that pull the listener in with both crushing and meditative passages. The album was recorded at Sound of Music with John Morand (Labradford, Sparklehorse, etc), mastered by James Poltkin (Khanate, Sunn O))), Earth, etc), and features original artwork by Sasha Barr (Sub Pop Records). Members also currently involved in Anduin and Ventoux. Released by Init Records. White Vinyl edition of 200 copies.