on all orders over $50.00

john zorn - there is no more firmament (cd)

PREORDER // This item is expected to arrive to us on Friday March 31, 2017. Please be aware that unforeseen delays which are out of our control can occur. Orders are shipped once all items on the order are available to ship.


ARTIST // john zorn
LABEL // tzadik (us)
CAT // tza8352cd


Tim Leopold, Stephanie Richards, Mike Gurfield, Alex Bender, Andy Kemp, Sam Nester, Chris Otto, Jay Campbell, Michael Nicolas, Peter Evans, Steve Gosling, Christian McBride, Tyshawn Sorey, Joshua Rubin, Kevin Cobb, Louis Hanzlik, Eric Reed, Michael Powell, John D. Rojak, Andy Clausen, Marcus Rojas, Matthew Welch, Marco Blaauw, Tara O’Connor, Arthur Sato, Rane Moore, Adrian Morejon, John Gattis. Tracklisting: Antiphonal Fanfare for the Great Hall * Freud * Merlin * Divagations * The Steppenwolf * In Excelsis * Merlin (version II) * Il n’ya Plus de Firmament There is No More Firmament is a remarkable collection of recent compositions from 2013–2016 that showcase the range, variety and continued creativity of Zorn as he enters his sixties. Connected together with a thread of intensity, magic and mad- ness, the music tells a twisted and complex story of a magical descent into madness. The compositions include two works for brass ensembles, a woodwind quintet, jazz piano trio, string trio and two solo pieces for clarinet and trumpet, with the outrageous trumpet solo Merlin appearing in two realizations—one by jazz master Peter Evans and another by the European classical virtuoso Marco Blauuw from MusikFabrik.