on all orders over $50.00

laurent perrier - plateforme #1 (cd)

$12.01  $8.41
Save: 30% off

ARTIST // laurent perrier
LABEL // baskaru (fr)
CAT // karu28cd


First and foremost, Plateforme is a concept, a restrictive framework Laurent Perrier imposed on himself: to create an electroacoustic piece using solely a set of sound sources provided by a "collaborator." The first three fruits of this vast sonic transmutation project are presented on Plateforme #1, the seeds having been planted by Felix Kubin, Lawrence English, and Gianluca Becuzzi. "I gave them no specific directions. I simply asked them to send me raw stuff close to their sound style," explains Perrier. "Some sent me a lot of material, others very little."

These sources have become unrecognizable in the end, but they gave birth to widely different works that retain something of the spirit of their originator: "Felix Kubin" is fanciful and kaleidoscopic; "Lawrence English," ethereal, stretches out across the listening space; and "Gianluca Becuzzi" feels nervous, jittery, and is full of glitchy sounds sent on knotty trajectories.

Laurent Perrier ranks among the most respected members of the French electronic music scene. His name is associated to the aliases Zonk't, Pylne, Heal, Cape Fear, and LP, and with the Odd Size label, an adventure that lasted a decade. His music art ranges from minimal techno to musique concrte, by way of several other states.

Plateforme #1 is the first CD in a multiple-volume series. The second (with Francisco Lpez, Tom Recchion & Christian Zansi) and third (subtitled Guitars Only, with Christian Fennesz, Aidan Baker & Hans Tammen) ones will be released in 2015 and 2016 on Baskaru. Baskaru publishes only a few carefully-selected releases each year. Its previous productions (including albums by Maurizio Bianchi, Mathias Delplanque, Gintas K, France Jobin, Francisco Lpez, Yoshio Machida, Stephan Mathieu, Toshimaru Nakamura, and Ethan Rose, among others) have established high artistic standards.

1 - Felix Kubin 18:40
2 - Lawrence English 19:01
3 - Gianluca Becuzzi 14:07